G is for Games

I realize there has been a long lapse between my last post and now. I’m having some trouble with my personal computer connecting to the Internetz. Sooooo, until I can get my computer fixed (hopefully soon), my post frequency may be a little haphazard. Thanks for coming back to read my posts!

The classic. All you need are hands....and possibly fingers.

Games are the mortar for anyone from a huge family. I am the youngest of five and buying a boardgame or video game is the gift that kept on giving for my parents. Much less expensive that piling all of in the car and driving for half an hour or more to the nearest family restaurant, movie theater or amusement park.

With the purchase of a quality game or invention of a new game my parents were promised entertainment for us until we grew out of the game (and sometimes past that point). We all varied in ages so when a game became too juvenile for the older siblings it just got passed down the line. Also, a game meant that we could do something together and for a few minutes (maybe) there wouldn’t be any fights. If there were we usually referred to the rule sheet via the best reader.

I believe that games are very healthy for development of social skills, rules and other such nonesense that a person needs once they get into the real world. Games help us navigate puzzles while understanding that our skills are delimited by the rule sheet we were supplied with. Games of speed, intelligence and sometime just strength of the popular button mashing video games helped me and my siblings get preparedness for the world we were a part of.

Competitiveness is something I never enjoyed from games. Probably becaus being the youngest I rarely ever won. I was not the fastest nor the smartest, but I love most games and puzzles. 
Each time someone says to me, “you were HOMESCHOOLED?!!,” as if it were some disease and question me on my curriculum and areas of study I make sure to tell them I played lots of games. That’s right folks, in addition to traditional book-and-notes learning we played a lot with each other and that is just one of the ways that we learned to be productive members of society.
I’m terribly sorry your public institution didn’t have such an awesome curriculum.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Dictionary of Fun « moonlit garden

Leave a Reply

