New Hairdo!

I have been a bum about updating my blog to my biggest changes, but seeing as I have rendered myself useless [bleach in my hair], I may as well blog about  it. Before you start getting worried, I’m just talking about changing my hair.

I recently cut most of my hair off. I mean for realz, most of my hair is gone-zo, but I love it. Let’s review some photo history:
hairlong1Check out the hair I used to have. I was pretty much at mermaid length hair.
Hair long2The trouble was with hair this long, if I washed it in the morning and put it up it would be wet all day. Things that don’t do well in winter. I loved my long hair, but have been planning a change for a long time now. Yes, I will likely grow out my hair again someday.

hair braids Even though my hair had been bleached, I decided to try and donate it to a wig making charity. The requirements page listed that they would be able to sell the hair for profits (to make more wigs) if they couldn’t use my hair. So my hair stylist braided it into four sections and started whacking off hair!hair in handPretty soon I was left with four braids in hand and a really awkward bob. I was excited to keep moving on from this weird hair length. trimming the bobShe pinned up bits of my hair and cut sections at a time. Our goal was to have short sides, very short back, bangs and enough hair on top to spike up and play with. M cut on cut on my hair for almost two hours!! I am very high maintenance I think.
hair on floorThis is just a little bit of the hair that was ultimately cut off. Keep in mind it doesn’t include the heavy braids nor the final 30 minutes of trimming and fudging to make it perfect.

katnewhairstyledsilly hair post shower

This was the end result! It is very very different from my usual loooong hair and no bangs. And yes, I am still getting used to my bangs.

20131121_150905I know you’re shocked but I still wasn’t pleased exactly with the length. So I got more cut off and I bleached it out.
20131121_141820Just freshly cut off some more.
20131121_160556Bleached, washed, cut and styled. This crazy spiky look is exactly what I want. I may wear my bangs down over my forehead if I want a slightly less spikey hairdo.
What do you think of my epic transformation?