Food Fotos

I have been trying to think of a lovely theme or nice way to tie my photos together for a blog. However, they would all be super short and simply saying: Hey, this is that one thing that I ate for dinner. And that sort of nonsense is for Instagram [which I also have].

So here are several food pictures of things I have been eating recently. If you’re interested in a recipe for it please let me know.

plate fish.rice.brusselI know this picture is a little fuzzy, my apologies. I was starved and wanted to eat immediately. I knew I wouldn’t be able to get a good picture of it unless I snapped one right away.
We had fish with Catalina seafood rub, spiced rice from scratch, and Brussels sprouts coated in butter and nutritional yeast. This meal was orgasmic!

I followed this recipe as a basis for my plans, with some changes:

Soaking up the liquids--but not quite done

Soaking up the liquids–but not quite done

Tomato Rice Recipe Ingredients

  • Oil to saute
  • Onion – 1 large diced
  • Ginger Paste & Garlic minced – Eyeballed (1.5 tsp and 2 TBSP)
  • Chilli powder – eyeballed it
  • Dried red pepper flakes – eyeballed it
  • Curry powder – eyeballed maybe 1 TBSP
  • Bay leaves – 2 leaves
  • Salt to taste
  • Tomatoes – 1 can diced
  • Can of black beans – rinsed and drained
  • Rice – 2 cups uncooked jasmine
  • 3 cups of water or chicken broth
  • NONE of the other ingredients listed on the website.

Saute onions with spices and a dab of oil. Add tomatoes, beans, rice and water. Bring to a boil and then reduce to simmer for 20 minutes or until liquid is gone and rice is tender.

20131129_181217Don’t forget to make hill billy paella with your leftover rice. We cooked up chorizo and shrimp to put into it this time and served it on a bed of fresh greens. So much yummy!

20131128_113618I made entirely too many rolls for Thanksgiving, but it was good to share them for more family anyway. I made roughly sixty rolls and they made it to two family functions. The left-left overs are in my freezer now. I hope to pull them out for a good hearty soup night this winter.

20131128_113631Just take a gander at those luscious rolls! Next time want to brush them with egg or milk to give them a right nice sheen. Although, as pictured above they are perfectly appealing. Have I ever shared my fun bun recipe? I feel another blog coming….

Leave a Reply

