Day 297: Lasagna Roll Ups {Recipe Revealed!!}

image

Another popular one on pinterest I have seen rolling around. Somehow I felt I exerted less effort with these than with a pan of spinach lasagna. Here’s the Pinterest link: Lasagna spinach roll ups.

Ingredients
1 lb. Lasagna noodles (big box)
15 oz. Ricotta (small tub)
1 cup Shredded mozzarella
1/4 cup Grated parmesan
1 large egg
10 oz. Frozen spinach (one block)
2.5 cups marinara sauce
To tastesalt and pepper
as needed non-stick spray

Kat’s additional ingredients:
Another 1/4 cup parm
1 quart of homemade sauce–I always like a lot of sauce and ours has mushrooms, onions and other tasty flavors.

image

I’m have added and slimmed down the instructions on here. They are different than the website linked.

Step one: Bring to a boil water, dash of salt and dash of oil.
I boiled my noodles for 7-10 minutes instead of 12 minutes. As soon as they go limp and you can kinda roll them in the pot with a spoon, they’re ready.
Drain. I rinsed them with cold water and left them in the pot in cold/room temp water.

Step two: While the noodles are boiling, prepare the filling.
Thaw the package of frozen spinach and squeeze drain.
Combine well the spinach in a bowl with the ricotta, mozzarella, parmesan, egg, freshly grated pepper and about 1/4 tsp of salt.

Step three: Spray casserole dish with non-stick. I didn’t turn on my oven but if you think you go really fast go ahead and preheat your oven to 400° F. I turned my oven about halfway through once I got the hang of portions and rolling.

image

Step four: On a clean surface, lay out a few noodles at a time. Original recipe says a couple of tablespoons of filling per noodle. I put a little less than that. Don’t worry about measurments. Be concerned with the filling covering all of the noodle but being a very thin layer. Roll them up and place in the casserole dish.
Repeat until all of your filling is gone.
There will be some noodles left over, these are “back ups” for broken noodles and they made decent chicken food if they don’t make it in the casserole dish.

Step five: Pour the sauce over the rolled noodles making sure to cover everything.

Step six: Cover the dish in foil and bake for 30 minutes. Serve hot with parmesan sprinkled on top.

Original recipe said the filling would do 14 noodles, I made 15. If you want to cut down on extra noodle waste then make 20 noodles instead of the whole box.
Much like lasagna, these are wonderful reheated.

Leave a Reply

