I’ve Got Goals and I’m Super Bad

Winter is not my favorite season. Short, cold days for months on end are depressing to me.

Yes, I love playing in the snow and leaning on walls blowing out streams of hot air (pretending I’m smoking), snow angels, caroling, Christmas, and adorable hats…..but this season still gets me down.

I’m no pro but I have decided to fight the winter blues this year by making a list! I know right? Don’t forget to breathe.

My list are winter goals and the deadline is April 1st, 2013. The first day of spring is March 20th but I’m giving myself the extra time.

I tried to pick things that I love doing but never have time for in the summer. Or, things that I keep saying, “gosh, I wanna learn that!”

Here is my list. Small as it seems.

1. Read ten books
2. Embroider at least five projects
3. Learn belly dancing basics and practice (YouTube, baby)
4. Finish writing my short story (dare I share it with the interwebz?)
5. Experiment with at least five new recipes

Explanations:

1. I have lately been neglecting my reading. I have booklists longer than my leg and two librarian siblings that are fantastic at finding me books when I whine around that I wasted time on a dud. Winter time is THE time to make a cup of tea and only leave your snuggle blanket for potty breaks. (Yes, I say ‘potty’ and have no children. Don’t judge me)

2. Embroidery is another thing I tend to neglect. Starting projects is the most difficult thing for me because I currently have no printer (ermehgerd!) and transferring is hard without one. I don’t most of the iron on patterns I own.
Once I get started, I love it!! I have been stitching some headbands to make them less bland looking and hope to share pictures soon.

3. I have been wanting to learn belly dancing since I was (skinnier) in college but never had time with class and work. I am convinced that with only one thing (work) ruling my life I must have more time. I still don’t have money so I can’t take a class from my inspirational friend and belly dancing instructor.
By watching the gagillion videos online I can at least understand the basics of the dance.

4. This summer I did a rewrite of the fairy tale The Princess and the Pea and I nearly finished it. My beef with this story is that the quality that makes you a princess also makes you an ungracious, high maintenance guest in a good samaritan’s household.
My mom would smack the hell outta me (as an adult) if I bitched about how uncomfortable the bed was when this lovely family dragged my pneumonia-ridden butt out of the gutter. Excuse the language, mommy.

5. I love, love, love cooking. However, I have this bad habit of picking a recipe from my book and not wavering. My husband, bless him, likes my cooking and never complains. A good cook, like a teacher or doctor, never stops learning new things.
I have the opportunity to cook for Christmas, bake cookies as gifts and just regular dinners for me and Kit. Why not try something new?

Are you setting goals this winter? Do you have winter projects to help prepare yourself for spring?

I will try to keep my readers posted on how well I am doing with my goals.

Leave a Reply

