Day 159: Birthday Cake & Recipe

image

My birthday was on the 29th but I was too busy with celebrating that I didn’t have time to sit down and write this post.

I decided early on in September that I wanted a tres leches cake for my birthday. My hubby is a wonderful cook but baking is my department. Plus I knew I would be pretty picky in flavor for my cake.

Most of the recipes I found were baking a cake from scratch. I will do this at some point but I just didn’t have the time.

TRES LECHES TORTA

Cake
1 box of lemon cake
3/4 tsp cinnamon
Plus ingredients to make the cake

Milk Mixture
Can of evaporated milk
Can of sweetened condensed milk
1 cup half and half

Whipped cream “icing”
2 cups whipping cream
1/2 cup (or less, to taste) powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
Cherries (optional)

Make the box cake as directed; don’t forget the cinnamon!

Allow the cake to cool completely. I left mine on the stove top for a half hour and once the pan wasn’t so hot I put it in my fridge to chill a bit faster.

Once cake is cooled mix up three milks and poke holes all over cake with a knife, fork, straw, whatever.
Pour milk mixture evenly over cake. It will look super soggy but don’t worry the cake acts as an awesome sponge.

image

Look at dat milk!!

Various recipes say different lengths of time. Let it chill at least three hours but over night is ideal.

Before serving throw the cream and vanilla into a large bowl and blend with a mixer or whisk. Slowly add powdered sugar while mixing until you have the desired thickness and sweetness. With a mixer it only takes a couple of minutes.

This recipe was bomb. I stumbled upon it at the Clockwork Lemon. Big thanks to Clockwork for the awesome recipe!

I have heard of people using a multitude of different cake mixes as a base. A lime cake mix or spice cake?

Saw a cake recently that was a red velvet mix and poured over it was cheese cake pudding. Mmmmmm

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Coconut Red Velvet Tres Leches Cake | Kat's Weblog

Leave a Reply

