Day 121: State Fair Embroidery

image

This was one of the cutest embroidery samples in the 4-H division. I wasn’t overly impressed with what i saw in the adult entires so I forgot to take pictures.

The above is reminiscent of a pattern you might see on a quilt because the embroidered bits are around the edges and more acting as a frame for the cloth.
I do like that this person took the care to get the veins in the wings and antennae stitched out. Very striking for a little pillow.

image

This strawberry sampler was my other favorite in the 4-H section
Just because I think the subject matter is delectable. I fear the typical way kids learn about embroidery is by way of older folks who are stuck in the vintage pattern rut and will never leave.
Thank goodness these precious little strawberries aren’t humanoid freaks.

Would it be weird if I offered to teach embroidery to a 4-H group? I would love to take them some contemporary patterns. Even if it is Justin B. It will be more applicable than dancing veggies.

I’m not doing this kid a solid. Have I mentioned I love this fruit sampler!? It really is well done redwork. You can tell s/he put some serious work into it. I would like to know what their backwork looks like but every inch there was a NO TOUCH sign.

Leave a Reply

