T is for Talking


I’m sure what you’re thinking is how ditzy can this chick be if her most enjoyable past time is texting. And maybe I am ditzy, but I do love texting people.
Here’s how I break it down, crazy or no. I love talking to people face to face. I don’t like talking on the phone at all, but I love texting. I could sit and talk to a friend all night around a campfire or stretch out that one cup of coffee much longer than I could ever make a phone call last. With a phone call you can hear your lover’s voice but no matter where you turn your head they really aren’t there. At least with a text message there is no guise of intimacy. I feel like a text message is just a short modern letter.  I absolutely love receiving hand written letters and replying to them. I love emails too but no real person ever sends emails–Too bad too, because they are super fun.

I have admitted my like for texting so I may as well reveal my other short comings related to texting. I have texted while driving but I have sworn it off and do NOT do this anymore. Scares me when I see others doing it now. I have texted someone at the same party, but it was usually to ask things like Would you like to bail early?  Things that wouldn’t be very polite to announce to the whole party. I also, on occasion, text my husband who is in the same house with me. Mainly, that is just to irritate the shit out of him because he will read my text and answer verbally while I text a reply.

One thing I try avoid are texting short cuts and I do that for two reasons. 1) Many of my friends have pet peeves related to texting and 2) I was so stoked to get a full keyboard (QWERTY) that I still relish the fact I don’t have to type one number two or three times to get the correct letter. I know, I know, me and my first world problems.

I have admitted my guilty/guiltless pleasure. Judge away. And if you want to judge me directly you can always send me a text saying how silly I am.

Leave a Reply

