Day Ninety-Three: Rain!!

windshield droplets

Nearly all of the counties in Texas are currently under a burn ban. We are under one and as you can imagine it is super duper dry around here. There is crunchy grass around my trailer and even our “constant level lake” is seeing the effects of the rainless months.We got a light sprinkling of rain a few days ago. It sprinkled for maybe 30 or 45 minutes. Not enough to even make the ground moist. It all immediately soaked right into the ground.
Although it wasn’t nearly enough I can’t tell you how much joy it brought to me to smell the rain. If you haven’t smelled rain in weeks then you know what I’m talking about.
It’s a sweet smell (like grass) and a fresh smell. I could smell it just before it started and I couldn’t be more happy that I was outside at that moment. I totally forgot that my windows on my car were down. Not that it really made a difference.
Don’t take your rain for granted. Back home they have tons of rain. I would love to play in a Kentucky thunder storm again.
Leave a Reply

