I is for Internet; the series of tubes

we just hope it won’t get clogged

The Internetz generation. That is the what I have come from and what I will continue to live in throughout my life. I’m sure the next generation will be even more dependent and wired than my generation. I wonder when technology will surpass me and children under ten will say to me, “What are you doing!?” and snatch the gadget from my fumbling hands.

Gadgets that I own I try to explore so I am never in the clueless boat. I hate hearing from other people the cool abilities of my tech gear. Makes me seem silly.

From my early age I was surfing the Internet. To the youth of today our ’90s version of the Internet was lacking in amounts of information and organization. I visited sites such as, santaclaus.com, candy brand websites that had flashgames, Pug (puzzles) and searched in vain for fun sites on My Little Pony and Animainiacs.

once I became a “cool” tween and teenager, I found sites like Myspace. Which at this point in my Internet Maturity seems like a childish comparison to the sophisticated sites I visit today.

My usual haunts are really not at all sophisticated, but the search tools are much better and the communications are smoother. youtube, facebook, wordpress, weatherchannel.com, all the Google services (pretty much), and wikipedia (best place to start term paper research). I also enjoy other time wasters like Failblog, Post Secret blog, and photobomb (I still haven’t seen anyone upload a picture of my bombing visitors at parks).

The Internet is infinitely browsable and constantly growing, which is why it is in my Dictionary under ‘I’ is for FUN!

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Dictionary of Fun | moonlit garden

Leave a Reply

