Paragraphs Between Assignments

Recently, I’ve been craving some reading materials but lacking the time to actually sit down with a book. Yesterday I just started reading a book called A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson. I figured it was fitting since I’m doing so much hiking and backpacking, short book and fast read about a comedic writer who decides to take on the Appalachian Trail.

I doubt that I will ever be fit enough or determined enough to hike the entire AT, but I would love to hike some sections of it at some point in my life. Maybe when I make tons of money [insert sarcastic laughter here] and can take  a couple of months off from work.

Yes, Rec majors can read

Thanks to a link from my friend I have found another book that I would like to get my hands on sometime soon. Here is the link to a book review my friend shared. The cover art for the amazon.com version is not quite as enticing, but the $10.57 price is a good price. I’d like to say that I keep up with caving related items making it into mainstream media, but I’m a little late on this one.

I might have to convince my librarian friend to purchase this for her collection just so I can have it. We’ll see, I may buy it just for the artwork which, according to all the reviews I’ve read, is spectacular. Hard to draw darkness and make it seem cool :)
Has anyone read this graphic novelist’s more popular book, Whiteout? The art looks a lot more rough, but apparently the story is good.

A friend/classmate of mine recently moved closer to town and brought a trunk full of books that he owns. I already told him I would be stealing one for our 12 day canoeing trip starting Tuesday. I need something to read just to recharge while I’m out there.

Here’s my Shelfari account. I haven’t been keeping up with it as well as I should be, but there ya go.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

