Vetoed Vows

While searching for wedding vows and creating a custom ceremony, I stumbled upon these vividly constructed vows.

Kit and I decided this might shock or offend some guests. I’m glad the Celts are keeping real with their honeycomb and night terrors. ;-)

Traditional Celtic Wedding Vow

You are Blood of my Blood, and Bone of my Bone.
I give you my Body, that we Two might be One.

I give you my Spirit, `til our Life shall be Done.
You cannot possess me for I belong to myself

But while we both wish it, I give you that which is mine to give
You cannot command me, for I am a free person

But I shall serve you in those ways you require
and the honeycomb will taste sweeter coming from my hand.

 

Traditional Celtic Wedding Vow

I vow you the first cut of my meat, the first sip of my wine,
from this day it shall only your name I cry out in the night

and into your eyes that I smile each morning;
I shall be a shield for you back as you are for mine,

no shall a grievous word be spoken about us, for our marriage
is sacred between us and no stranger shall hear my grievance.

Above and beyond this, I will cherish and honor you through this life
and into the next.

Source: http://www.documentsanddesigns.com/verse/Celtic_marriage_wedding_vows.htm

Ed: Originally posted on January 16th, 2011.

Leave a Reply

