Day Twenty-three: Sycamore

Identifying Trees

While eating lunch under a shade tree I remembered that I have a leaf collecting project I had to start working on. What better time then while I’m sitting under a tree. I remembered my class discussions and started with the basics. I look at the leaves, bark and height.

I matched the leaf shape in my field guide and the description matched what I was sitting underneath. Even better, the tree I was nomming away beneath is on my thirty-six long tree list. I nabbed a leaf and added it to my slowly growing collection.

I’m up to about six thanks to my hort friend who I spent just a few minutes with going over the list. Hopefully I will find more of my trees when he and I take a campus walkabout.

Leave a Reply

